New Year’s Resolutions

At the beginning of a new year, we like to make resolutions.  Each member of my family makes goals for themselves, and we also make family goals.  My kids range in age from 2 years to 7 years, so we may not make really lofty goals, but at least we try to learn something new during the year or try to be better in some way.

We make the goals for our youngest children.  Therefore, my 2-year-old’s goals are “learn how to fold arms and sit still during a prayer” and “learn how to use the potty.”  I am very much looking forward to these goals being met 🙂

This year, my 3 goals were:

1) Exercise at least 10 minutes each day 5 days a week. Okay, okay, I know it’s not an hour or anything like that, but honestly, I’m all about making ACHIEVABLE goals.  10 minutes is still a stretch for me, so it was a goal I definitely needed to make.  The best part is, my little ones who are home during the day love to dance around and be silly with me, and my daughter enjoys teaching us some of her gymnastics (although, let’s be honest, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to do a back-bend as well as she can).  I love being able to fulfill a goal AND spend time with my kiddos–win-win.

Zumba

Zumba (Photo credit: San Diego City College)

2)  Keep up with the assigned reading in Sunday School.  This year, in the LDS church, we are studying our book of scripture called the Doctrine and Covenants, and each Sunday for one of the classes at church, we are expected to have read a certain portion for discussion.  I set this goal because I actually serve in the children’s organization (called the Primary); I

Day 210/366 - 3-in-1 Book of Mormon, Doctrine ...

Day 210/366 – 3-in-1 Book of Mormon, Doctrine and Covenants, & Pearl of Great Price (Photo credit: Newbirth35)

play the piano for the kids to sing.  Because of that calling, I don’t get to attend the adult Sunday School class, and I feel I miss out in spiritual growth because I don’t get the lessons.  So, each week I intend to do the reading for the class and teach myself a lesson about it–it will be better than nothing.

3) Put up a website or blog where I can share my music with others.  I intended to do this before the end of December 2013, but as you can see, I got a tad (okay, MAJORLY) excited and kind of went overboard crazy about getting the site up, but that’s one full-year goal I can already check off 🙂

So far, we are 4 days into 2013.  I have kept up with each goal so far.  I have done my exercise (even getting 20 minutes today, woohoo for me), I have read the lesson material for this upcoming Sunday, and the blog, well, it’s already up.

Happy New Year!

I love comments!

