Being 30

Birthday cake

Birthday cake (Photo credit: 3liz4)

I never thought I would be so open about my age when I got to the big 3-0.  Here I am, though, and obviously I’m open enough about it to share it on a blog, so I’m already surprising myself.

I turned 30 last month, and you know what?  It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  For the last 10 years, I had determined to listen to Tim McGraw’s, “My Next 30 Years” on this milestone birthday of mine, and I fulfilled that wish.  I listened to it several times that day, actually.  You can go here for the lyrics.

You’ll notice that some of them don’t really apply, of course.  I

have never had a beer, and of course I’ll hang out with my husband, but I like the general message of the song.  For me, it reminded me on this big day that I get a fresh start.  From day one of being 30, I can choose to live my next 30 years better than I have the first 30.

I got my first comment on my age and getting older a few days ago:  I went to the dentist, and the hygienist said, “Now that you’re 30, and you’re getting older, it’s even more important to take care of your teeth.”  At first, I let it sting.  Me?  “Getting older?!”  What is that supposed to mean?  But, after the initial shock I realized: Getting older just means I have had many amazing experiences in my life, and I get to look forward to more.  There’s nothing wrong with getting older, it’s all part of life.

I’m hoping to be a better mom these next 30 years and really play with my children rather than just watch them play.  I’m hoping to be a better student of the gospel these next 30 years and really get to know my scriptures.  Most of all,  I’m hoping to enjoy life these next 30 years: take what may come and love it all.

Here’s to another 30 years.

I love comments!

