New Children’s Song: The Holy Ghost

Baptism Mormon

Baptism Mormon (Photo credit: More Good Foundation)

Buddy is turning 8 in August, and this past Sunday night we had the opportunity to go to a “Baptism Preview” for all kids in the stake planning on being baptized this year; it was such a great experience.  The speakers talked about preparing for Cub Scouts and Activity Days, the covenants we make at baptism, and how the Holy Ghost can bless our lives.  We then had the opportunity to actually visit the font where the kids will be baptized, and the kids were even invited to walk down into the font (with no water in it) to see how it felt and looked.  The leaders also passed out books for each child on how to prepare for their baptism including family home evening ideas and talks we can look at.  Seriously, it was a great night, and I look forward to going to each one as each of our children get to be this age.

That night, several girls from our Stake sang a beautiful musical number about being baptized, and I hope I can teach my son the song they sang.  I feel that music can stay with our children longer than a lot of the spoken words we teach, and the song they sang that night had a lot of great doctrine in it that I hope he will remember.

I recently finished a new song. In it, I have written two of the main ways the Holy Ghost can bless our lives: comforting us, and teaching us the truth.  I hope that my children will learn this one so they can remember a few reasons we are grateful for the gift of the Holy Ghost.

“The Holy Ghost” Sheet Music

Listen to a Recording of “The Holy Ghost”

I love comments!

