New Song (about miscarriage): Before I Had the Chance

baby's room

This song is one I wrote about the miscarriages I have experienced.  I am hoping that someone might find comfort in these words.

If you’re interested in the long story of our most recent miscarriage (over a year ago), please go here to another blog I created to get that experience down.  I think there are only about 6 posts, so, to get the whole story you can find the earliest posts starting from “July” on the right hand side of the page.

I wasn’t going to post this song for a while since I don’t have the sheet music finished, but I felt like I needed to get at least the words and recording up.  I hope someone out there might find some comfort in this song–if only to know that there are others who have experienced something similar.

“Before I Had the Chance” Lyrics
I couldn’t wait to see you, my dear one.
I couldn’t wait to know if you were a daughter or a son.
I couldn’t wait to hold you,
I couldn’t wait to show you
How much you meant to me.

But Before I Had the Chance
To even hold your hands,
Before I Had the Chance
To sing you lullabies,
Or calm your cries,
We had to say goodbye.

When I found out I had lost you, oh, how I cried.
And sometimes, all I think and wonder now is “why?”
Do you know that you’re my treasure?
Do you know that I can’t measure
How much I love you still?

Before I Had the Chance
To even hold your hands,
Before I Had the Chance
To sing you lullabies,
Or calm your cries,
We had to say goodbye.

But sometimes at night, as I lie awake
And all I can think about is you.
Something inside tells me we’ve still got a chance,
That we will meet again.

And I will have the chance
To finally hold your hands.
I will have the chance
To look into your eyes,
And you’ll be mine.
And we’ll never have to say goodbye.

We’ll never have to say goodbye.

6 thoughts on “New Song (about miscarriage): Before I Had the Chance

I love comments!

