New Song about Mothers: Soon

This song is so very dear to my heart, and I am so glad I’m able to share it with you now.

I started writing this song last fall when my son, whom I was homeschooling, decided he wanted to attempt going back to public school.  I wanted to write a song to get out my feelings about how hard it is to let our children go, but how we know it’s best for them.

Shortly after I started writing it, my mother’s health took a turn for the worse and there was a short time where I knew it was very possible I could lose her.  The difficult feelings I faced at that time changed this song into something I was not expecting–a song about being parted by death from my mother but knowing I would see her again someday.  I am grateful to say that she made a full recovery, and I am able to still have her with me, but those emotions still come into play every time I sing this song.

In it’s final form, this song became a tribute to all the times mother part from their children and how there can always be a happy reunion.  I decided to share this song in May since we celebrate motherhood this month.

If you are a child missing your mother or if you happen to be a mother missing a child, this song is dedicated to you.

I know that this life and this time apart is truly a small moment in eternity. I know that we can all be reunited again someday soon at our real, heavenly home.

I hope you all have a very happy Mother’s Day coming up!

Soon Sheet Music

“Soon” Lyrics

Mama, it’s time for me to go.  I’m off to school today.  And Mama, I see those tears in your eyes.  You hope I’ll be okay.

You want me to stay, but you know that I need to go and learn on my own.  You’ve taught me well to be kind, how to share, and to grow. Now it’s my turn to run.

But, Soon, I’ll come home to you, You’ll hold me just as you’ve always done, and I can’t wait to tell you all that I learned when I couldn’t be by your side.  Yes, we will be together, back home, Soon.

Mama, again I’ve got to go.  I’m moving out today.  And Mama, I see you trying to be strong.  You hope I’ll be okay.

You want me to stay, but you know that I’ve got to go and make it on my own.  You’ve taught me well how to work, how to live, how to know who I am.

And Soon, I’ll come home to you, Thanksgiving and Christmas you’ll hold me once more, and I can’t wait to teach you all that I learned when I couldn’t be by your side.  Yes, we will be together, back home, soon.

The years have flown by, I’ve a family of my own now.  And with each goodbye and the tears in your eyes, you have taught me how to be brave, to be strong, and all along, you’ve shown me how to love.

Mama, I got the call today: It’s your turn to leave me now.  And Mama, I’ll do my best to be strong, For you have taught me how.

I need you to stay, but I know that you’ve got to go: Our Father needs you home.  Don’t worry about me, you’ve taught all I needed to know, and I know that:

Soon I’ll come home, too.  And you’ll hold me just as you’ve always done.  And I can’t wait to hear of all that you learned when you couldn’t be by my side.

Yes, we will be together, back home, home, Soon.

2 thoughts on “New Song about Mothers: Soon

I love comments!

