New Song for Baptism: I Will Promise

I am so excited that my daughter has chosen to be baptized a member of the LDS Church at the end of March!  I hope to write each child a song about baptism or the Holy Ghost for them to sing at their baptisms (if they make that choice, obviously).

This baptism will be extra special since my daughter will be baptized with one of her friends since they were born the same day!  I am thrilled that they will be able to sing this song together on their special day!

**The recording has slightly different piano parts than the sheet music as I recorded it before final editing, but the melody and words are the same if you’d like to use the recording for practice.  Also, you get the added bonus of hearing one of my little guys talk to Daddy in the background 🙂 **

I Will Promise Sheet Music

 

I Will Promise Lyrics

Our Savior, Jesus Christ, went to the river

He was baptized in the water there so I could follow Him.

So  I Will Promise to take on me His name,

I’ll follow His example, commandments I’ll obey.

I’ll love and serve all others, I’ll try to what’s right

for the Savior was baptized that day to show me the way.

 

Our Savior, Jesus Christ, went to the garden

He suffered there, He prayed for me that I might repent.

So I Will Promise to take on me His name,

I’ll follow His example, commandments I’ll obey.

And when I make mistakes, I can try again

for the Savior suffered that day to give me the way.

 

Our Savior, Jesus Christ, was hung upon the cross

He died for me, yet three days passed, and then He rose again!

So I Will Promise to take on me His name,

I’ll follow His example, commandments I’ll obey.

And someday, if I’m worthy, I’ll live with Him again

for the Savior rose again that day to give me way.

He gave us the way.

One thought on “New Song for Baptism: I Will Promise

I love comments!

